Understanding Autism.

This story actually makes me physically sick.  I don’t even know how to respond to this.  The school, the teachers, the parents, the classmates all of them defending bullies for their treatment of an autistic child.  How is this even possible in today’s day and age?  How?  If this child wasn’t autistic, would this still be acceptable?  If a perfectly healthy student called another student an asshole because that asshole was bullying him, would that bully have the right to punch him simply because he was called an asshole?  Seriously?  And then they video tape the entire incident and post it on YouTube and it’s STILL not considered wrong?  What the hell kind of town is this?

I feel for the parents of this child and for this child.  I seriously hope that they can find another place to live because I wouldn’t want to be raising my children in that kind of place.  If they can’t leave, I seriously hope something can be done about the immense ignorance of that school system.

I’m still physically sick from reading this.  If you have a choice, perhaps Matt Walsh is right and homeschooling really is the best option.

Thank you to Opinionated Man of Harsh Reality for sharing this article with us.

10 thoughts on “Understanding Autism

  1. I agree with you it is disgusting but, I think home school should be the parents choice. My sister adored school (she was special needs, but not autistic) we had another kid Tommy in school, in fact he still is, he has his own group of friends and since my school is really small he bakes birthday cakes for everyone in the high school end. He is so social I don’t think he could cope with home school. I understand your point but I think its almost a racism to force these kids out of school. if that’s where they want to be, its like saying girls can’t go to school. I do understand where your coming from for sure, but these kids should have say in where they get their education.

    1. Please don’t misunderstand. I’m not advocating in the least that a child should be forced into being homeschooled. My point was that I understood why some people feel that homeschooling is the only option. As was the case for my own daughter. However, absolutely no child, special needs or not, black or white, hispanic or non-hispanic, purple or pink, should be forced to attend a school that would allow them to be ridiculed, tormented, physically assaulted and then videotaped while it was happening and then have the entire school administration turn their backs and say that it’s that child’s fault.

      1. No I didn’t at all 🙂 it just kinda sent me of on a rant. I don’t like the Idea of kids being forced out of school (this almost happened in B.C). Your absolutely right they should not be forced to stay and this applies to everyone being bullied even if their “purple or pink” its disgusting that they are getting away with this and that the child has to “live with it” hopefully someone will press charges.

      2. I’m hoping this will get so much press coverage that their will end up being an investigation of the entire school board along with this school’s administration. Heads better roll.

Leave a comment