My Little Earthquakes

So, the other day, my daughter and I were in the car going to a doctor’s appointment two hours away.  Usually I allow her to pick the music, but this time I was in the mood to listen to a little Tori Amos.  My daughter likes Tori as well, so she put on the “Little Earthquakes” cd.

It got me thinking that pretty much every single song on this album I could some how relate to in my life.  So, here it is: My Little Earthquakes.


Crucify

Nothing I do is good enough for you

Growing up with a low self-esteem is really difficult when all you want to do in life is to please everyone.


Girl

And in the mist there she rides and castles are burning in my heart and as I twist I hold tight

I had a best friend in high school who I haven’t seen or heard from since and this song has always reminded me of her.


Silent All These Years

So you found a girl who thinks really deep thoughts what’s so amazing about really deep thoughts

For all the guys that decided someone else was more important to them than I was.


Precious Things

No one dared no one cared to tell me where the pretty girls are those demigods with their nine-inch nails and little fascist panties

I was bullied pretty ruthlessly in elementary school until I finally stood up for myself.


Winter

When you gonna make up your mind when you gonna love you as much as I do when you gonna make up your mind cause things are gonna change so fast

This song has always reminded me of my relationship with my father and how much I love him.


Happy Phantom

Or will I see you dear and wish I could come back you found a girl that you could truly love again will you still call for me when she falls asleep or do we soon forget the things we cannot see

I really just love this song!  It’s so upbeat, but with a really serious meaning.


China

Sometimes I think you want me to touch you. How can I when you build the great wall around you

Sometimes you can be so alone even when someone is sitting right next to you.


Leather

I could just pretend that you love me the night would lose all sense of fear

Hanging on to a relationship for fear of being alone is a bad thing.  Everyone must learn to live with themselves and love themselves so that they are never in a position of staying with someone for the wrong reasons.


Mother

He’s gonna change my name maybe you’ll leave the light on

Perhaps I’m weird, but this is the song I walked down the aisle to when I got married.


Tear In Your Hand

I think it’s that girl and I think they’re pieces of me you’ve never seen maybe she’s just pieces of me you’ve never seen well”

We were sitting in my car when he told me that he didn’t love me anymore.  It was raining outside and all I could think about was this song and how it so appropriately fit how I was feeling at that moment in time.


Me And A Gun

But I haven’t seen Barbados so I must get out of this

We all either know someone or are someone who has been the victim of a sexual assault.  It is important to speak up.  It is important to make this abuse stop.  Please support RAINN (Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network).


Little Earthquakes

Give me life Give me pain Give me myself again

I’ve been through a lot in my life and somehow I have made it through it all.  We are all capable of surviving all the Little Earthquakes that enter our lives on a daily basis.  It only serves to make us stronger.

2 thoughts on “My Little Earthquakes

  1. Many of us survive, and become stronger. Some of us thrive despite terrible circumstances. But not everyone. I worked with someone, years ago, who was a victim of incest. She was trying to heal, and remake a messed up life, but (I found out later) the drugs finally sucked her back in. I don’t know what ever happened to her.

Leave a Reply

