Forgive and Forget?

Is that even possible?  To forgive somebody for causing you so much harm that it shatters you into a million tiny shards of glass?  To forget the pain and trauma inflicted upon you?

Walking through life alone is a very difficult journey.  Each step is more painful than the last.  Especially when you feel the absence of the person who should be walking beside you.  When you long to reach out for their hand along the way.  When you speak to your love, but there is nobody there to hear the ache in your words.

How do you forgive that?  How do you forget?

I don’t know if it’s possible.  All I know is that I am forced to continue to take each step of my journey alone.  I’d say that I will wear the pain like a badge of honor, but that would be a lie.  Only one person can erase that pain and mend the shattered pieces.

But he isn’t here.

Image borrowed from: http://www.sandrahillawi.com

Image borrowed from:
http://www.sandrahillawi.com

Written for: Daily Post: Forgive and Forget?

6 thoughts on “Forgive and Forget?

  1. Pingback: Actions speak louder. Cliche but so true! | The Hempstead Man

  2. Forgive and forget is an interesting concept. I thought a lot about it over the last year. My heart slowly mending, but it isn’t happening fast enough. Deep down I am angry, but the best part of letting go of that anger would be that I wouldn’t have to be angry anymore.

Leave a Reply

