Daily Prompt: Festivus for the Rest of Us

You have been named supreme ruler of the universe. Your first order of business is creating and instituting a holiday or festival in your honor. What day of the year is your holiday? What special events will take place? Describe YOU DAY in as great a detail as you can muster: the special foods we’ll consume, the decorations we’ll use…everything.

 

Apparently this particular prompt is highly controversial among some of the writers here and I would like to take a moment to address this.  For some of them, they site religion as there basis for disapproval of this prompt.  Some religions do not believe in any holiday that does not specifically honor God.  Some others don’t believe in holidays of any kind.  For those people, I completely understand their disapproval and respect it.  But for those who simply disapprove because they believe the prompt is egotistical of a writer to place himself or herself as “supreme ruler of the universe”, I would like to take them back to their childhood.

Do you not remember playing dress-up and make-believe as children?  Did you not pretend to be President or King or Queen?  Did you not pretend to rule over “all the land”?  Perhaps you didn’t, but I certainly remember doing so.  It was fun.  It was a time of innocence and creativity for my friends and me.  I believe that this prompt is meant to bring us back to such a time.  I still respect your choice to not participate in this prompt if it offends your sensibilities.  I just wish to remind you that as adults we become jaded to such things and sometimes we need to go back to our childhood to remember the innocence of such creativity.

Now, as for my holiday, I believe I would choose my birthday, July 22nd, as my holiday.  It is the day that my mother brought me into this world and my father first held me in his arms.  It is the first day that I knew love unconditionally.

As for the food used to celebrate this holiday, I would like all kinds of food to be served.  Mexican food, which is one of my favorites, pizza, pasta, Dr. Pepper, Merlot, Margaritas and vegetable platters.  All of these foods I enjoy and would like the universe to experience each and every one of them.

Entertainment would be karaoke.  It doesn’t matter if you can sing or not.  Enjoy yourself and sing your favorite songs.  It’s about having fun, and perhaps even facing fears.

I would also like to have several charities set up booths that people can donate either food items or money to in order to help make the universe a better place for everyone to live in.

My holiday would be for everyone to celebrate.  No one would be denied entry.  It would be to show the universe that we can all get along if we just simply set aside all the hate in our hearts.

7 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Festivus for the Rest of Us

  1. Pingback: Festive Eid | A mom's blog

  2. Pingback: There Is A Creepy Arrogance About The Daily Prompts | The Jittery Goat

  3. Pingback: Festivus for the Rest of Us | My Kaleidoscope

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Festivus for the Rest of Us | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: Sometimes you can’t choose… | Words 'n Pics...

  6. Pingback: Sparkling Wine and Sushi Day | I am Lynn

  7. Pingback: Festivus for the rest of us | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

Leave a Reply

