12 Days of Christmas: Everlasting Passion

 

She sat on the bench at the park feeding the doves everyday. I would join her on my lunch hour and we would chat about life.

“They mate for life,” she once said, referring to the doves. “When one dies, the other usually is gone within hours. That is true love.” There was a sorrow in her expression as she spoke.

I walked her back to her apartment that day and she gave me a hug. “Thank you for listening to this old woman ramble on.”

A few weeks later I noticed she wasn’t at her park bench. I finished my lunch and decided to check on her on my way back to the office. A young woman answered the door. Her face was obviously tear-streaked.

“My mother passed away during the night. She asked me to give you this letter.”

“How did you know who I am?”

“She said you would most likely check on her at this time of day. She told me how you would have your lunch with her while she fed the birds.”

I waited until I got home to read the letter.

“I met my husband when I was a young girl,” the letter began. “We married young and had three beautiful children together. They are all grown with wonderful families of their own now. My husband was my soul mate… my one true love. He passed away a few weeks ago. It is time for me to follow him home. Like the doves, we are mated for life.

“I want you to know that true love does exist. Be patient and do not settle for anything less than forever. You are worthy of everlasting passion.

“Merry Christmas, my dear. May all your wishes come true.”

292 WORDS

 

Inspired by:  12 Days of Christmas Contest

Leave a Reply

