Quitting Smoking

BlogHer Prompt:  Friday, November 15, 2013:  If you could quit one bad habit instantly without difficulty, which would it be?

 quit-smoking-hi

I would quit smoking if I could do it instantly without difficulty.  I would want to do this for a few reasons.  First and foremost, I am still young enough that I believe that my health would vastly improve if I were to quit.  Second, and not least, is the amount of money I could save if I didn’t smoke.  I’ve already managed to cut down from three packs per day to one pack per day (maybe less, depends on the day sometimes).

This has already given me a savings of:

Cost per day: $10.00

Cost per week: $70.00

Cost per month: $300.00

Cost per year: $3,600.00

Cost per decade: $36,000.00

If I managed to quit, I would save an additional:

Cost per day: $5.00

Cost per week: $35.00

Cost per month: $150.00

Cost per year: $1,800.00

Cost per decade: $18,000.00

I think that’s a pretty good incentive, don’t you?

NaBloPoMo November 2013

8 thoughts on “Quitting Smoking

  1. Three packs a day!?
    Coming from a smoke addict, this might help: whenever I can’t smoke for a while (for instance when I’m camping and forgot to bring cigarettes) I feel better almost instantly, and more energetic (of course I tend to celebrate by lighting one up, but that’s me:S)

    • I probably burned more than I smoked. Not smoking in my house has gotten me to cut down to the pack a day. And that three packs was while I was unemployed. When I was employed I was only smoking two packs a day. Once I was in the hospital for a week and the first thing I did when I got out was light up a cigarette. That first cigarette hurt, but it didn’t stop me from lighting up a second. Bad habit.

  2. One of the hardest things I’ve ever done. It’s worth it in the end, but holy hell, I don’t think I could put myself through that again. All the best of luck with it, and well done for cutting down to one pack.

Leave a Reply

