Culture of Scary Things

Blogging Circle of Friends:  Day 352 Prompt:  There was an interesting article on MSN http://news.msn.com/science-technology/why-do-some-brains-enjoy-fear-1 today. What qualities do “scary things” share across cultures or does it vary widely? What do you think?

 

I have to agree with the article.  A lot of what we fear is because of our fear of death and our fear of things that are different from what we consider normal.  A good example of this is when I moved from Illinois to Ohio and discovered that Ohio’s “house” spiders had bodies the size of half-dollars.  Of course I was terrified of them because they weren’t what I considered normal.  (Of course, I wasn’t half as terrified as my boyfriend at the time who literally jumped up on the couch and screamed like a girl.  That was so funny I almost couldn’t kill the spider because I was laughing too hard.)

Picture borrowed from: http://osumarion.osu.edu/SpiderWeb/ Copyright remains that of the original owner.

Picture borrowed from:
http://osumarion.osu.edu/SpiderWeb/
Copyright remains that of the original owner.

Leave a Reply

