Ghosts of Animals Past

Picture borrowed from: http://kennelwood.deviantart.com/art/The-Ghost-147550618 Copyright remains that of the original owner.

Picture borrowed from:
http://kennelwood.deviantart.com/art/The-Ghost-147550618
Copyright remains that of the original owner.

 

“Mama, do animals go to heaven when they die?” my daughter asks as we drive passed a pasture where some horses are frolicking and grazing.

“Yes, sweetie,” I answered. “But they have a special place that God created just for them.”

“Do you think they come back on Halloween to visit their family like humans do?” she asked. We had just been discussing the meaning of Halloween earlier that day, so the question didn’t surprise me.

“I don’t know, sweetie. I never really thought about it,” I answered. “Why do you ask?”

“No reason,” she answered, giggling as we arrived at the Halloween party her friend was having.

After I had dropped her off and was driving home, I felt as if a dog was licking my face. Out of the corner of my eye I could see our dog, Sam, sitting on the front seat of the car, happily waiting for me to pet him.

The only problem was that we had buried Sam last year after he had died from cancer.

173 WORDS

 

Inspired by: 31 Days of Halloween Contest

3 thoughts on “Ghosts of Animals Past

  1. Pingback: Nature of the Witch | Crow Arrow, Inc.

  2. Pingback: Cemetery of Lives | Crow Arrow, Inc.

  3. Pingback: My Top Five Least Viewed Posts | Crow Arrow, Inc.

Leave a Reply

