What if you scared me?

My daughter was having a birthday party sleepover with a group of her friends. They were in her room with the door closed and I was listening outside the door as they were telling scary stories. When they got to a particularly climatic point, I started banging on the door and all the girls screamed. Success! Unfortunately though, I scared one girl so much that she started crying. I felt horrible after the fact. I didn’t think I would make them cry. They all seemed old enough to be able to take the joke, but unfortunately this particular girl was more sensitive than the others. I still feel horribly guilty to this day about that.

Picture borrowed from: http://blogs.mcgill.ca/oss/files/2012/10/scared.jpg Copyright remains that of the original owner.

Picture borrowed from:
http://blogs.mcgill.ca/oss/files/2012/10/scared.jpg
Copyright remains that of the original owner.

“We make up horrors to help us cope with the real ones.” ~Stephen King

Inspired by: What if? Challenge

8 thoughts on “What if you scared me?

  1. Ohh that’s an unfortunate turn of events – especially since the intention wasn’t to hurt – but rather than have a bit of fun and add to the drama of the night.

  2. Pingback: Scare-raising: it’s not just for anyone anymore! | Rob's Surf Report

  3. Pingback: Update on the What if challenge? Week six | Okay, what if ?

    • Yeah, they knew. I actually never met the girls mother. Only the father. The girl was home-schooled and this was her first year going to public school. I think it was her first sleepover as well.

Leave a Reply

