31 Days of Halloween – Day 5

Day 5 – Your First Horror Movie

I was only a few months old when “The Exorcist” started showing at a local drive-in and my parents took my brother and me to go see it. Obviously I don’t remember it from that time. I’m pretty certain I just slept through it. But when I was around four years old we lived in a really small town and only received something like two stations on our television. This is when I saw the movie again and actually had memory of it.

The movie scared me to death for years. I would have nightmares about demon-possessed Regan on a regular basis. Of course, I did see the re-release of the movie years later where they added deleted scenes. For some reason, it had lost its impact on me and I was no longer afraid. I think I may have been desensitized over the years to horror movies.

I think it would be fantastic though to see this movie completely remade with today’s technology. What do you think? What was your first horror movie? Please leave your comments below. Thank you.

Picture borrowed from: http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_8VUcBE801DU/TI-b2DHZeXI/AAAAAAAABXo/WA5gQ9tENfI/s1600/exorcist.jpg Copyright remains that of the original owner.

Picture borrowed from:
http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_8VUcBE801DU/TI-b2DHZeXI/AAAAAAAABXo/WA5gQ9tENfI/s1600/exorcist.jpg
Copyright remains that of the original owner.

“Look, your daughter doesn’t say she’s a demon. She says she’s the devil himself. And if you’ve seen as many psychotics as I have, you’d know it’s like saying you’re Napoleon Bonaparte.”

~ Father Damien Karras, “The Exorcist”

4 thoughts on “31 Days of Halloween – Day 5

  1. My dad has always attested that the Exorcist is the mother of all horror movies and that is probably why I STILL haven’t seen it!

    For myself, I’m not sure which was my first. The summer I turned 11, I was allowed a lot more lenience about bedtime. I wanted to see my dad off when he went to work on the 3rd shift, so I was often up quite late. Feeling quite grown up about out-lasting my mom every night, I felt I was old enough for scary movies. That summer, I got up the courage to watch JAWS, which I didn’t find scary at all, and Alien which terrified me. If those don’t quite count as horror films, then I’d have to say Wes Craven’s Dracula 2000 was the first, genuine horror film for me.

Leave a Reply

