Friends

Many years ago I had many friends.  Looking back, I wonder why I ever considered them friends to begin with.

The dictionary defines “friend” as “a person attached to another by feelings of affection or personal regard.”  I’m not certain that any of these friends had these feelings about me.  If they did, they certainly had an odd way of showing it.

Another definition is “a person who gives assistance.”  It is amazing how many times I’d be there for them in their time of need, but they were always too busy to be there when I needed them.

These weren’t friends.  They were the junk that clutters up our lives and drains off our resources.  In the end, I chose to just sever all contact and move on.  I am more free now than I was then.  I am happier.  And I am much more picky about who I call “friend”.

Inspired by:  Daily Prompt

Image

Picture borrowed from:

http://livegreatquotes.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/letting-go.jpg

Copyright remains that of the original owner.

7 thoughts on “Friends

  1. Pingback: Daily Post: Beach Clean Up | Light Words

  2. Pingback: Resolving Junk | Sogna Grandezza

  3. Pingback: How much clutter is too much clutter? | 3rdculturechildren

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Clean House | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. I am probably misquoting, but one of my favorites is something along the line of
    “some people are with you for a reason, and some for a season…”. Just because you’re friends at one time, doesn’t mean you’re friends for a lifetime.

    The other thing I’ve learned (and am teaching my daughter) is that you can never expect people to treat you the way you treat them. I bend over backwards for my friends, but no longer expect them to do the same. I take what they’re willing to give, and appreciate them for whatever little bit it might be (it might be all they have to give)

    • That works except for when all they ever do is take and they drag you down and drain you of everything that you have. I call them psychic vampires. All relationships should be give and take. That’s what makes good relationships.

  6. I think true and lasting friends are very hard to find. I’ve had friends over the years I just had to leave alone. They were negative or needy, and I just don’t need that. I’m looking for true friends, who truly care and these are hard to find. God bless and I’m praying for these type friends, the type only God can find.

Leave a Reply

