Are Cell Phones Necessary for Kids?

“Mom, I need a cell phone.”

“Why?”

“So I can talk to my friends.”

I turn and look at the house phone.  My daughter looks at me, looks at the phone, and looks back at me.

“What?” she asks.

“That’s a phone.  You pick it up.  You dial a number and a person answers on the other end.  Then you talk to that person.”

“But, Mom!”

 

This isn’t an actual conversation between my daughter and me, but I can see how this conversation goes.  People have become so reliant on cell phones today that they have forgotten how to use an actual phone.

My kids don’t have cell phones for one simple reason.  I can’t afford them.  I have one pay as you go phone because I can’t afford to always have a phone.  I’ve used it for long car trips and such.  When I can afford it, I have one.  When I can’t afford it, it goes away.  Don’t get me wrong, it would be a lot easier at times if we all had cell phones.  Especially since apparently there is no such thing as a pay phone anymore (anybody remember pay phones?).  But I’m not going to go into debt so my kids can text their friends about such and such cheating on so and so at 3:am.  Nope, not worth it.

 

Image

 

Picture borrowed from:

Copyright remains that of the original owner.

4 thoughts on “Are Cell Phones Necessary for Kids?

  1. Pingback: If It is Not Broken Don’t Fix It | Jeannine Vegh

Leave a Reply

